What commercial classifications apply to business premises?

The property categories you need to be aware of when choosing premises

Our experts

We are a team of writers, experimenters and researchers providing you with the best advice with zero bias or partiality.
Written and reviewed by:

Before you negotiate the lease or purchase of a property you must check what commercial classification it currently falls under. Commercial premises come under certain categories of use and if you don’t have the appropriate classification you may not be able to run a specific type of business there.

The main types of commercial classification are as follows for business:

A1 – used for shops A2 – professional and financial services such as banks, solicitors and estate agents A3 – food and drink establishments

If the property does not already have the correct classification for your type of business, you need planning permission from your local authority. You must bear in mind that planning consent might not be accepted if the local authority feels the change of classification would not benefit the area.

When making a decision, the local authority will take into consideration factors such as whether there is a need for that type of business in the area, traffic and parking requirements, likely causes of nuisance such as noise, smells or environmental hazards the business may cause, trading hours and objections from other occupiers and residents.

Written by:

Leave a comment

Leave a reply

We value your comments but kindly requests all posts are on topic, constructive and respectful. Please review our commenting policy.

Back to Top